Snapguide

Snapguide is a free app that you can use to create and share your own step by step “how to” guide.  It has an easy to follow template in which you can use your own photos/videos to illustrate your guide.  Once your guide is complete, it is saved to Snapguide.com where it can be viewed by everyone.  The site is also fun to use to find out “how to do” almost anything.  You will need to set up a free account to use this app.

I like to use different formats for my educational material.  Videos can by useful, but I also like being able to use step-by-step formats, that a user can follow at his/her own pace.  Snapguide allows me to use either format, and to have my educational information readily available over the internet.  I simply give my client or caregiver the address of my snapguide.

To see how this works, you can check out my snapguide on “how to tie shoelaces with one hand”, or for the video “how to tie shoelaces with one hand (video)”


Price: Free

Developer:  Heavy Bits Inc.

Compatibility:  iPhone, iPod and iPad.  Requires iOS 4.3 or later.

You can check it out at the iTunes App store Snapguide

Have you used Snapguide or a similar site?  What are ways that you find helpful to share educational information?

One thought on “Snapguide

  1. I was able to view Snapguide on my home computer but was having trouble viewing Snapguide on other computers. I wasn’t able to advance the photos in the guide, and I wasn’t able to get the search function to work. I contacted the developer and found out that Snapguide does not work well on older versions of Internet Explorer or Firefox. If you are having trouble viewing Snapguide, try updating your browser or use your iDevice to view the guide.

Leave a Reply

